Martha Grace Denny’s “of Keeneland”

“When Bianca Spriggs asked for suggestions for her poem, I sent some her way. I was so excited when I read the poem and saw that she’d used one of them (Keeneland), so of course that was my first choice. I’ve been going to Keeneland with my family since before I could walk and I have never missed a fall or spring meet with them and/or my friends. There is no feeling in the world like the smell of horses and cheap cigars wafting up into your nose, a cold bourbon and coke, and what you hope is a winning ticket in your hand as the horses come thundering down the track to the finish line. Be it “in the cheap seats” or the clubhouse, it’s an experience no one should go without having at least once in their life.”

Martha Grace Denny

Martha Grace Denny’s “of Keeneland”

 

