Frankie Finley’s contextual “after”

“I’m a writer and I have a lot of tattoos. When people ask me how many, I tell them I’ve lost count, but I’m going for a total of one. But before the Lexington Tattoo Project, I didn’t have any words tattooed on me. I’d think about phrases and quotes and then go get another flower or bird. An eternal garden full of critters is an easy commitment for me, but words are something I constantly work with and strike and rewrite and move, uncommitting and recommitting over and over. They are not permanent to me. I rearrange words as I read my work aloud, even after it’s published.

I heard about the Lexington Tattoo Project at the Morris Book Shop, where my writing group meets every week. Immediately, I knew that I’d get a word I wanted.

‘After’ is one of those words that come to modern usage from many sources, and since it is a preposition, it can be used to contextualize actions, things, and descriptions. We all come or go ‘after’ something, and something always comes or goes ‘after’ us. ‘After’ implies the order of things, temporally, spatially, causally, and allegorically. The word marks our journey into, through, and out of this life. My ‘after’ now marks my foot, with a trail of effervescent bubbles when I put my best foot forward.”

Frankie Finley

Frankie Finley’s “after”

