Melissa Ann Taylor’s “seeing her”

“The words ‘seeing her’ were not my first choice for this project … at first I wanted ‘a dance party’ because I have a constant jive in my head and love to cut a rug. That was already spoken for so I picked a few others that I liked and ended up with ‘seeing her.’ I admit I was a little disappointed at first because I thought ‘a dance party’ was surely meant for me, but then I decided to get to know my future tattoo on a deeper level. Not only is it the tattoo I was supposed to get all along, it has also helped me to really reflect on some profound moments in my life.

Profound Moment #1: I was deployed with the United States Army as a nurse from 2003-2004. It was an important year for me professionally, emotionally and psychologically, and though it was one of the best years of my life, I couldn’t wait to see my family and friends again. Coming home was bittersweet and full of tangential emotions and little sleep, but I don’t know that I have ever felt safer and more relieved than at the moment when I first saw my mom and dad at the airport … that’s exactly how ‘seeing her’ (my mom and you, too, dad) made me feel.

Profound Moment #2: I work in a correctional facility as a nurse and the daily grind there is often tenuous and frustrating at best. The first time I saw her, I was mesmerized by her. She was gorgeous, with soft features and the most beautiful green eyes I’d ever seen. She was the new girl on the Mental Health staff and though she didn’t know it at the time, she was going to change my life. We became best friends and eventually lovers, and it felt like I’d known and loved her in every life before this one—as if I had been making every choice to create a series of events that eventually lead to us finding each other again, in this life. She brings me peace with my demons and more happiness than I can process, and is to became my wife last spring! ‘seeing her’ is the best thing that has ever happened to me.

Profound Moment #3: My family is the foundation that my whole being is built on and I could never be eloquent or clever enough to adequately qualify or quantify how much they mean to me. I adore my brothers and their wives, and when my middle brother told me they were expecting, I was so happy I cried the whole nine months. My family lives in Maryland, so when Alanna was born I took the first flight home. I knew I’d love my niece but ‘seeing her’ for the first time was … breathtaking … for lack of a better adjective. How could this beautiful baby girl who looked just like my brother and held my finger in her tiny, perfect hand see inside my soul? My niece … my gorgeous bouncing lovely niece Alanna.  Happy first birthday, baby girl! You are perfect.”

Melissa Ann Taylor

Melissa Ann Taylor’s “seeing her”

