Deri Ross Pryor’s “another”: different and distinct

“I first heard about the Lexington Tattoo Project through random posts here and there on Facebook. I didn’t pay attention initially because I wasn’t sure what it was and because I had a lot going on. Then one day I had time to actually investigate and realized the true scope and beauty of the project. I had been thinking about ‘another’ tattoo, but I tend to ruminate on them for a while, making sure the time and meaning are right. Having known and worked with Bianca in The Twenty, a gathering of young writers every summer, I respected her greatly as a poet and the thought of having part of her work as a tattoo felt right.

Unfortunately, by then it was too late. Apparently, they had enough participants and I had missed the boat. I joined the group anyway and asked if I could be put on the waiting list. I was in luck. Twenty-two words remained. As I scanned the list, my eyes kept stopping on the word ‘another.’ I’m not sure why. It seemed so lonely and disjointed. Another. There were still some other great words. ‘Charlie Brown’s’ for example, the quaint little bar that had been the venue for some great times I’ve had with friends. ‘In,’ ‘UK,’ even ‘but’ were all still available, equally as disjointed, but I kept going back to ‘another.’

Then I looked up the definition online. My favorite: different; distinct; of a different period, place, or kind. In a way that is always how I’ve felt about myself. It’s also how I’ve felt about Kentucky. I’m originally from New York, Manhattan to be precise. I grew up in South Florida. My family moved to Kentucky when I was 16 and I’ve had a love/hate relationship with it, but I’ve grown to consider it home. I have lived all over Kentucky, but the majority of my years have been in Lexington. I have lived, worked, found love, had my heart broken, tried new and exciting things, seen the worst and best of people, in Lexington.  It has been the scene of my greatest growth as a person. I’ve had friends and family ask me why I stayed. Because it’s different and distinct, like me. We are both another thing all together.”

Deri Ross Pryor

Deri Ross Pryor’s “another”

